You are invited to the Cello Recital DUO BRIKCIUS [2 Cellists – 2 Siblings] & Year of Czech Music 2024, that will take place on Thursday 21st March 2024 at 7 p.m, at Velehrad London (39 Lonsdale Road, London, SW13 9JP).

The two cellists, brother and sister Anna Brikciusová and František Brikcius (Duo Brikcius), will introduce a programme for two cellos featuring Sonata for two cellos B-flat major, K. 292 by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756 – 1791), Composition for two cellos by Czech composer Bohuslav Martinů (1890 – 1959) and 4 Cantatas for two cellos by Johann Sebastian Bach (1685 – 1750). Then Fantasie IV. for Two Cellos (2008) and Bridges for Two Cellos (2009) by Czech composer and organist Irena Kosíková, who lives in France. The music is dedicated to Swiss bridge builder Toni Rüttimann. As a special encore Duo Brikcius will play the Presto by Czech composer Leoš Janáček (1854 – 1928).

This concert is commemorating the 339th anniversary of the birth of Johann Sebastian Bach, the 170th anniversary of the birth of Leoš Janáček, the 65th anniversary of the death of Bohuslav Martinů and as part of the Year of Czech Music 2024 and International Day of Forests.

The Czernin hall is provided by the Trustees of Velehrad London. Nearest underground Hammersmith and 15 minutes walk or train to Barnes or Barnes Bridge and bus 419, 533 (will stop in front of Velehrad).

Admission £15 (+ £1.96 booking fee, includes a glass of wine) via Eventbrite. Limited number of “2 for 1 deal” tickets. Tickets will also be available at the door. Please book early as seats are limited – https://DuoBrikciusLondon.eventbrite.com .

For more details visit http://www.Velehrad.org.uk and follow @Brikcius via http://Twitter.com/Brikcius and https://www.facebook.com/Brikcius .

– Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756 – 1791): Sonata for two cellos B-flat major, K. 292
– Irena Kosíková: Fantasie IV. for Two Cellos (2008)
– Johann Sebastian Bach (1685 – 1750) : 4 Cantatas for two cellos
– Irena Kosíková: Pavane for two cellos (2012)
– Bohuslav Martinů (1890 – 1959): Composition for Two Cellos, H. 377 (1959)
– Irena Kosíková: Mosty / Bridges for Two Cellos (2009), dedicated to Toni Rüttimann
– Leoš Janáček (1854 – 1928): Presto (1910), arranged for Two Cellos by František Brikcius

ANNA BRIKCIUSOVÁ – Cello (Duo Brikcius)
FRANTISEK BRIKCIUS – Cello (Duo Brikcius)

Thursday 21st March 2024, 7:00 – 8:30 p.m .(doors open at 6:30 p.m.)
Velehrad London, 39 Lonsdale Road, London SW13 9JP

Admission £15
Booking is essential via Eventbrite – https://DuoBrikciusLondon.eventbrite.com